The Baffa-Rivolta award: towards the best achievements in European social building

There is one month to go before the deadline of the applications for the sixth edition of the Two-Year Award for Social Housing, announced by the Milan Order of Architects and presented on June 14, in Amsterdam, at the International Social Housing Festival.

Architects and international designers are invited to submit their proposals by September 29 to be admitted to the first phase. The Baffa-Rivolta Award aims to identify, reward and divulge the best social building projects, built and delivered between January 2012 and December 2016 around the 28 EU countries and Switzerland. The social building projects are those supported by both public and private operators, regulated by assignment rules, aimed at a permanent or temporary housing demand, not available in the free market. The overall quality of the built environment and the sustainability of the architectural design will carefully analysed.

The jury, composed of five actual members - David Lorente Ibáñez, Harquitectes (Spain), Dick Van Gameren (Holland), Massimo Bricocoli (Italy), Camillo Magni (Italy) and Mauro Galantino (Italy) – and 2 substitute members Laura Montedoro (Italy), Fabio Lepratto (Italy), will select the projects at the end of the initial phase by publishing the results and proclaiming the winner with a prize of € 10,000 in cash and giving the jury appointment for the next edition, on December 11, 2017.

"Each edition - Valeria Bottelli, president of the Architects of Milan, commented - offered examples of perfect compatibility between architecture, quality of life and social building. The award, with an increasingly international mark, strengthens even more as a cornerstone of the Social Housing debate, and the jury, highly professional and cosmopolitan, during every edition is pleased to report projects deserving special mention".

The previous 5 editions involved 230 projects from 17 countries. The winners of were the following studios: H Arquitectes+DataAE, Spain (2015); Atelier Kempe Thill, Holland (2013); Zanderroth Architekten, Germany (2011); Kis Péter Épìtészmuterme, Hungary (2009), Guillermo Vàsquez Consuegra, Spain (2007).  

For further info and the competition announcement: