The winners of the eleventh edition of the Porcelanosa Awards

On 26 April, in Madrid, the eleventh edition of the Porcelanosa Architecture&Interior Design Awards ended with the awarding of three projects, with 330 professionals attending. The contest is promoted by the Spanish multinational company, expert in surfaces for architecture, which wants to find and reward the most advanced application of the Group’s materials.

The categories were three; designers and architects had challenge each other: on the one hand, in the design of a new Porcelanosa showroom in Vila-real (Castellón) and, on the other, in the best architectural buildings completed between January 2016 and February 2018.

For the category Future-Student Projects won TheOrigami by Orbaiceta de Navascués, Rubén Aldaba and Santiago de Pablo, students of the Master BIM Manager in CICE, Madrid. On the other hand, Miguel Ángel Mayo Sáez, Silvia Díaz, Carmen Córcoles and Borja Cuevas of the architecture studio Kiga won with Watercourse in the category Future-Professional Projects. Finally, for the category Made Projects (Project of the Year) the Award was assigned to César Frías Enciso and Miguel Pradillo by Morph Studio, with their residential project Terrazas del Lago.

A jury composed of well-known design professionals selected the projects and announced the winners. This jury included many professionals: Daniel Libeskind, Francesc Rifé, Lázaro Rosa-Violán, Mark Fenwick, Rafael de La-Hoz, Clodagh, Fermín Vázquez, Sandra Tarruella, Teresa Sapey, Julio Touza, Fran Silvestre, Carlos Lamela, Íñigo Ortiz, Hembert Peñaranda, Ramón Esteve, Taba Rasti, Pascua Ortega and Benedetta Tagliabue.

During the event, the traditional awards for the professional career and the lifetime achievements were assigned to the architecture studios RCR, Conran & Partners and Fenwick Iribarren Architects.